The Jerry Douglas Band - What If - CD (2017)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $15.00

Jerry Douglas, the 14x GRAMMY award winner who has played on over 2,000 separate recordings (Alison Krauss, Mumford & Sons, James Taylor, etc.), presents a new album with a unique sound and a brand-new outfit of musicians, hand-picked by Douglas himself. On What If, Douglas decisively merges jazz inclinations with the bluegrass, country, blues, swing, rock, and soul he’s spent his life absorbing and performing, forging a sound that flies beyond the boundaries of anything he — or anyone else — has done before. From the up-tempo combination of what Douglas calls “bebop jazz and caveman jazz” on “Cavebop” to the symphonically sweeping title track, What If delves into areas unexplored by any other musician, much less by Dobro! The album also includes a funky, soulful take on Tom Waits’ “2:19” and a blistering bluegrass-meets-jam-band reinvention of the classic “Hey Joe.”

Track List:

1.   Cavebop 
2.   Unfolding
3.   2:19
4.   What If
5.   Hey Joe
6.   Battle Stick
7.   Go Ahead and Leave
8.   Butcher Boy
9.   Freemantle
10.   The Last Wild Moor
11.   Hot Country 84.5