Strength In Numbers - The Telluride Sessions (1988)

  • Sale
  • $13.00
  • Regular price $15.00

Collectively, the members of Strength in Numbers are Sam Bush, Bela Fleck, Mark O'Connor, Edgar Meyer and Jerry Douglas. 

This acoustic supergroup joined forces in the summer of 1988, and the result was a true landmark in "new acoustic" music.  The quintet--Sam Bush (mandolin), Jerry Douglas (dobro), Bela Fleck (banjo), Mark O'Connor (violin), and Edgar Meyer (bass)--incorporates classical-style themes and arrangements within the context of bluegrass instrumentation.

 What makes the album special is the uncanny blend of precision and freedom, of improvisation and structure. Each of the 10 compositions were written by a different twosome (do the math permutations). Playful bluesy lopes ("Pink Flamingo") accompany tinges of reggae ("The Locks of Dread"), Celtic ("Macedonia"), and Middle Eastern ("Blue Men of the Sahara") music. There are urgent burners, somber mood pieces, and tender ballads, all delivered with grace.

Track Listing:

1.  Future Man

2.  Texas Red

3.  Pink Flamingos

4.  Duke and Cookie

5.  One Winter's Night

6.  Macedonia

7.  The Lochs of Dread

8.  No Apologies

9.  Slopes

10. Blue Men of The Sahara